Budapest British
International Academy

header_slider_bottom header_slider_bottom



BBIA's curriculum is based on the British National Curriculum, which is highly regarded worldwide for its high quality education.


Education at BBIA is based on the British National Curriculum, implemented throughout Key Stages 1,2, and 3. The National Curriculum of the UK is recognised worldwide as it is rigorous, complete, and designed to meet the requirements and needs of all students. Furthermore, British education is known around the world for its high quality; among the benefits of following this learning programme is that it is easily transferable, which is especially important for international students, as they move from one country to another.

BBIA’s curriculum has well-defined academic, social, and behavioural objectives and goals stretching throughout each Key Stage, while the educational system is divided into Primary Education (children aged 5-11) and Secondary Education (children aged 11-18). Here in Budapest, we equally value the Hungarian language and culture and ensure that all our students, both Hungarian and international, are enabled to study Hungarian language upon request.

In the ever-changing modern world, the future generations will most certainly need a well-rounded education and a wide variety of skills in order to pursue a successful career one day. At BBIA, we strive for excellence on all levels: academic, social and personal – we educate the leaders of tomorrow.

At present, our school offers Key Stage 1, Key Stage 2 and Key Stage 3 of the British National Curriculum.


Key Stages Age Year Group
Early Years 3 – 5 Nursery and Reception
Key Stage 1 6 – 7 Years 1, 2
Key Stage 2 7 – 11 Years 3, 4, 5, 6
Key Stage 3 12 – 15 Years 7, 8, 9, 10


Early Years programme is designed as a play-and-learning-based introduction to all the essential skills required for Key Stage 1.

This programme entails the development and practice of the knowledge and skills which the children will be able to use as soon as they enter Key Stage 1. As the Early Years curriculum is intended to prepare the students for Year 1, the skills learned and practised include the foundation of Literacy and Numeracy, verbal skills, comprehension, listening, responding, and self-expression. Our dedicated Early Years teachers aim to develop the children’s self-confidence, responsibility and respect for themselves, others, and the environment, proper behaviour both in class and during play time, as well as to prompt their social skills.

We are proud to say that all our Early Years students, as a rule, make a smooth and successful transition to Year 1.


Key Stage 1 spans across Year 1 and Year 2 of the British National Curriculum. It is a broad and balanced programme especially designed for international students, with main subject areas including English Literacy, Mathematics, Topic (Science), Information Technology (IT), Art, Drama, Music, Physical Education, and World Language.

In Language and Literacy, BBIA provides a varied and stimulating learning environment which encourages and promotes children’s interests and prompts communicating in English. Key Stage 1 students are offered every opportunity to develop their reading and writing skills, while in Maths and Science, they learn about the world around them and simultaneously develop knowledge that can be applied in everyday life.


In Key Stage 2, spanning Year 3 – Year 6, students are aged from 7 – 11 and the BBIA curriculum further encourages and motivates them to be academically inquisitive in their education and to take responsibility and initiative in learning. Overall, and building upon their previous learning experiences from Key Stage 1, the Key Stage 2 students are educated and supported to be able to:

  1. Fully and eloquently express themselves through their elaborate verbal and written skills.
  2. Successfully apply their acquired knowledge in practical and problem-solving activities and tasks.
  3. Develop and nurture essential personal, social skills, and academic skills.
  4. Grow and thrive in all areas of knowledge as well as in self-confidence and self-discipline.
  5. Conduct research, create, inquire, perform and succeed in all their subject areas.

Specifically, Key Stage 2 takes the students’ education to the next level and provides thorough and rigorous instruction in the following core subjects: English and Literature, Mathematics, Science, Humanities (History and Geography), Information Technology (IT), Art, Music, World Languages and Physical Education (including swimming.) Overall, it is an all-encompassing educational programme intended to support our international students through every step of their education at BBIA.


The next stage of learning in the British National Curriculum involves the three years of education in Years 7, 8, and 9 when students are between 11 and 14 years of age. The compulsory subject areas explored are English and Literature, Maths, Science, History, Geography, foreign languages, Design and technology, Art, Music, Physical Education and Computing (IT). Key Stage 3 provides and ensures high standards of literacy and language; it promotes the students’ love of literature and develops a strong command and eloquence in both spoken and written English. Reading assignments cover a wide range of poetry, theatre, fiction and non-fiction along with extensive literary analysis and mastering essay writing skills. In Mathematics, the main aim is to further develop the students’ fluency in all key areas of maths such as algebra, calculus, and geometry and enhance mathematical reasoning in various areas of life and learning. Furthermore, high quality education in Science establishes the basis for understanding the world and the environment through the foundations of physics, chemistry and biology – knowledge that many students will find essential in both their future personal life and professional career.

Section Bottom